Department of Transport & Main Roads QLD

Department of Transport & Main Roads QLD

3.6
3.5732 out of 5

Top mentioned terms in reviews

Hide filters

Filter or search the reviews

Sort by

Reviews are shared 'as is' in line with our community guidelines. They are not edited, verified or endorsed by either Seek.com.au or the company themselves.

Showing 66 reviews sorted by Most recent

4 out of 54.0
10 months ago

Operations Support Officer

Jan 2021

Operations Support Officer

Queensland, Australia
1 to 2 years in the role,

TMR is a great place to work, advice would be to continue to apply for the full time roles, and always advance your skills and show interest in the work you're doing.

The good things

The opportunity to move around and up within the workplace. Management are encouraging and supportive. The work is challenging, but enjoyable.
Continue reading

The challenges

Contracted work doesn't guarantee a stable role, although the income is higher, you don't get paid for sick days/leave/public holidays. Ever changing policies and procedures, always have to stay on top of regulations.
Continue reading
1 out of 51.0
2 years ago

Analyst

Apr 2020

Analyst

Queensland, Australia

Place if you want to finish your career off

The good things

going out for lunch and away from desk
Continue reading

The challenges

lack of Management, immediate, mid-management, high management and higher. HR backing management. Very Toxic would never go back
Continue reading
Employee review

Have your say

Let others know what it's like to work at Department of Transport & Main Roads QLD

Click to rate

0 out of 5
3 out of 53.0
2 years ago

Project Support Officer

Nov 2019

Project Support Officer

Maroochydore QLD, Australia

Enlightening experience but which did not produce any lasting career development outcomes.

The good things

Challenging work requiring a diversity of skill sets.
Continue reading

The challenges

Poor project coordination and integration and lack of training opportunities.
Continue reading
4 out of 54.0
2 years ago

School Crossing Supervisor

Nov 2019

School Crossing Supervisor

Mudgeeraba QLD, Australia
5 to 6 years in the role,

Satisfying and rewarding work

The good things

Loved working with the public
Continue reading

The challenges

Working with the public
Continue reading
1 out of 51.0
2 years ago

Technical Officer

Nov 2019

Technical Officer

Sunshine Coast QLD, Australia
9 to 10 years in the role, former employee

TMR says they support their employees but they are more likely to hang you out to dry rather than do anything that might deminish TMRs reputation.

The good things

The work colleagues
Continue reading

The challenges

Management know to say the right things but don't follow up with any actions.
Continue reading
1 out of 51.0
2 years ago

Advisor

Nov 2019

Advisor

Brisbane QLD, Australia

Worst career experience so far

The good things

Leaving the toxic environment
Continue reading

The challenges

The lack of professionalism and wastage of money
Continue reading
1 out of 51.0
2 years ago

Customer Service Role

Nov 2019

Customer Service Role

Bundaberg QLD, Australia
7 to 8 years in the role, former employee

I have worked in a lot of offices, but this one I’m currently at is the worst I have worked in the past 8 years.

The good things

You get to meet great working colleagues and make friends
Continue reading

The challenges

Management and supervisor can’t not manage or team you as equals regardless of your work title
Continue reading
5 out of 55.0
2 years ago

Operations Support Officer

Nov 2019

Operations Support Officer

Rockhampton QLD, Australia
3 to 4 years in the role, current employee

Awesome

The good things

Fantastic work environment
Continue reading

The challenges

None really. Everyday is different but meet the challenges head on
Continue reading
1 out of 51.0
3 years ago

Senior Town Planner

May 2019

Senior Town Planner

Nerang QLD, Australia
More than 12 years in the role, former employee

The challenges of organisations that become to big and their subsequent demise.

The good things

Before DMR amalgamated with Queensland Transport, it was a really good organisation to work for. I understood the hierarchy. I understood my role. I saw a future and invested in the organisation.
Continue reading

The challenges

After the amalgamation, the department became too big, and I no longer understood the various organisations within. And the central paradigm of all power in Brisbane, as opposed to the regions was ungovernable and underminded whole of government relationships and not withstanding the public arena (i.e. developers). Teams no longer worked in a cohesive, integrated approach.
Continue reading
2 persons found this helpful
5 out of 55.0
3 years ago

Crossing Supervisor

May 2019

Crossing Supervisor

Corinda QLD, Australia
3 to 4 years in the role, current employee

Challenging but enjoyable

The good things

While I was studying it would give me a reminder to take a break and get some pocket money at the same time. It kept my mind active when I was judging the traffic and the traffic lights to keep the traffic flowing. The parents are quite nice as well.
Continue reading

The challenges

The hours are short. The roads get quite some times and it becomes tedious. You don't always meet your co-workers. If there's an incident you have to remember and write the number plate, make and model of the car, the colour and if possible, the appearance of the driver.
Continue reading
Page
of 7

Company Reviews published on our site are the views and opinions of their authors and do not represent the views and opinions of Seek.com.au or its personnel. Seek.com.au does not verify the truth or accuracy of any reviews and does not adopt or endorse any of the comments posted. Seek.com.au posts reviews for what they are worth and for information purposes only to assist candidates to find employment.