Koorana Child & Family Services

Koorana Child & Family Services

4.0
4 out of 5
Hide filters

Filter or search the reviews

Sort by

Reviews are shared 'as is' in line with our community guidelines. They are not edited, verified or endorsed by either Seek.com.au or the company themselves.

Showing 6 reviews sorted by Most recent

5 out of 55.0
29 days ago

Finance Manager

Sep 2020

Finance Manager

New South Wales, Australia
5 to 6 years in the role, current employee

I enjoy working here and look forward to see Koorana to grow in the coming years.

The good things

-Lovely people to work with -Opportunity to evolve while the organisation is set to expand within the next couple of years -Fair, rewarding and advanced salary model system -Excellent life and work balance as the family life is the most valued in Koorana.
Continue reading

The challenges

With over 60 staff located in different premises, it posts the challenges for communications and coordination. However, with the help of the latest technologies, we have overcome most of the challenges.
Continue reading
5 out of 55.0
2 months ago

Early childhood educator

Aug 2020

Early childhood educator

New South Wales, Australia

Positive environment and great company

The good things

All staff are very friendly and supportive of others in their role. Positive team environment. Opportunities for growth, and individual needs are supported.
Continue reading

The challenges

Learning to support clients with additional needs.
Continue reading
Employee review

Have your say

Let others know what it's like to work at Koorana Child & Family Services

Click to rate

0 out of 5
5 out of 55.0
4 months ago

Partnerships Manager

Jun 2020

Partnerships Manager

New South Wales, Australia
Less than 1 year in the role, current employee

Koorana has been a wonderfully inclusive and supportive environment that values it's employees and tries hard to enrich the community through the work that it does.

The good things

Koorana is a small, close knit community organisation that supports children of all ages and abilities. There is a great welcoming team spirit that is shown by all the team. Everyone is here to help and support each other in our roles. I have found Koorana to be a supportive, inclusive and welcoming organisation.
Continue reading

The challenges

As with all small NFPs things are lean, technology is not cutting edge and budgets are tight. That being said there is desire to think outside of the box to ensure that we get programs funded through community fundraising and support. Management supports with what they can and there is a real desire to give people what they need to do their roles.
Continue reading
5 out of 55.0
5 months ago

General Manager Corporate Services

Jun 2020

General Manager Corporate Services

New South Wales, Australia
current employee

I wanted a fulfilling and rewarding new challenge for the last career change of my life, and I found just that.

The good things

This is a human rights focussed organisation that places great importance on employee and client wellbeing. Management is genuinely consultative and inclusive. The workforce is incredibly diverse in every aspect, mirroring the community in which Koorana operates (Inner West, Canterbury Bankstown, SE and SW Sydney). Salaries are all well above Award and industry comparison. Teams are well-gelled and agile, and evidently able to adjust to changing circumstances faster than you can say COVID-19.
Continue reading

The challenges

It’s a small not-for-profit, so don’t expect the latest technology and a company car. But, I have worked in large and small NfPs for nearly 20 years and Koorana is one of the best resourced that I have seen. It’s a mid-sized business in an ever-changing sector that demands agility, tenacity, initiative and self-motivation of its employees. Not everyone is made for this kind of an environment.
Continue reading
1 out of 51.0
5 months ago

Key Therapist

May 2020

Key Therapist

New South Wales, Australia

You can do better than this place, go elsewhere.

The good things

Other therapists were great to work with and there is a nice culture between the service delivery staff
Continue reading

The challenges

Huge rift between management and service delivery, management in general less concerned about staff and quality and more about costings and billable hours. Revolving door of therapists joining and leaving made it difficult for policies and procedures to be well established.
Continue reading
3 out of 53.0
5 years ago

Not disclosed

Sep 2015

Not disclosed

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
3 to 4 years in the role, former employee

Koorana has a great workplace environment but actions little of its potential for professional growth and fairness.

The good things

Koorana maintain a strong induction process and facilitate team building opportunities. Staff are friendly, supportive, encouraging and understanding of the demands of your role and the service.
Continue reading

The challenges

At a most senior level, there is an adopted attitude that staff are viewed as temporary and this resonantes in its minimal diversity of professions in decision-making roles. Therefore there are few opportunities for career growth. In my experience there was minimal professional support from more experienced staff. Achievements were recognised but rarely appreciated. Feedback and complaints handling was poor despite structured opportunities and processes in place to facilitate this (e.g. Professional performance reviews, staff to team leader to manager discussions, exit interviews). Feedback was often documented but rarely actioned. The scope of practice's ceiling was relatively low as the same programs were run each year to the same population. Visions that were too bold were often suffocated quickly through actions that warranted Union inquiries.
Continue reading

Company Reviews published on our site are the views and opinions of their authors and do not represent the views and opinions of Seek.com.au or its personnel. Seek.com.au does not verify the truth or accuracy of any reviews and does not adopt or endorse any of the comments posted. Seek.com.au posts reviews for what they are worth and for information purposes only to assist candidates to find employment.