PETstock

PETstock

3.4
3.3563 out of 5

Top mentioned terms in reviews

Hide filters

Filter or search the reviews

Sort by

Reviews are shared 'as is' in line with our community guidelines. They are not edited, verified or endorsed by either Seek.com.au or the company themselves.

Showing 79 reviews sorted by Most recent

5 out of 55.0
4 days ago

Sales Associate

Jun 2020

Sales Associate

South Australia, Australia
Less than 1 year in the role, current employee

Great company, great people, great morals

The good things

Great working atmosphere, staff discount is good, lots of learning with animals
Continue reading

The challenges

Most staff begin as casual meaning no annual leave etc. and irregular hours.
Continue reading
5 out of 55.0
21 days ago

Sales Associate

Jun 2020

Sales Associate

South Australia, Australia
1 to 2 years in the role, current employee

Great company to work with.

The good things

Great team of staff to work with. Even the staff at other locations within SA were great to be in contact with. Head office is easy to deal with and communicate well. Franchise owner makes an effort to know you. Lots of support available with PETstock, and online training for product and animal knowledge.
Continue reading

The challenges

There is many opportunities for career advancement, unless you were to move to another location.
Continue reading
Employee review

Have your say

Let others know what it's like to work at PETstock

Click to rate

0 out of 5
4 out of 54.0
4 months ago

Sales Assistant

Mar 2020

Sales Assistant

Geelong VIC, Australia
3 to 4 years in the role, current employee

I have worked at the Geelong City store for 4 years and have learnt so much and have grown form all the experiences I've had it has made me a more confident and approachable person and has set me up for a career in Vet Nursing.

The good things

Petstock is a good environment to work in. The discounts really make a difference and you learn a lot about products and animal care from working with people with such knowledge. training is thorough and paced nicely for people with not much experience. Its a good business to work for if you need extra cash or just starting in the work force.
Continue reading

The challenges

Head office has bad communication skills with the store managers and send information at the last minute making the staff stress about printing sales tickets and setting up promotions.
Continue reading
2 out of 52.0
4 months ago

Team Member

Mar 2020

Team Member

Essendon VIC, Australia
Less than 1 year in the role,

had fun but wouldn't work there for any extended period of time

The good things

Majority of the management and team members were really nice and helpful while I worked there
Continue reading

The challenges

Only thing that was challenging was trying to keep up with the delusional expectations
Continue reading
3 out of 53.0
4 months ago

Sales Assistant

Mar 2020

Sales Assistant

Adelaide SA, Australia
3 to 4 years in the role, former employee

Enjoyable team environment but overwhelming workload for 'casual' position.

The good things

Regular hours even in a casual position, team environment and lots of friendly regular customers
Continue reading

The challenges

Work/life balance not taken into consideration by management, consistently short staffed and
Continue reading
3 out of 53.0
4 months ago

Retail Sales Assistant

Mar 2020

Retail Sales Assistant

Western Australia, Australia
1 to 2 years in the role, former employee

Great if you want a casual job with decent pay, not a career.

The good things

If you had a great team you are fine, the discount is good across the Petstock services.
Continue reading

The challenges

Lack of communication from head office, some stores have a toxic work culture beginning with management. No opportunities for career advancement and refused to make me part time even when I was doing the hours already. Difficult to get anything done with constant mistakes by head office and lack of hours to complete the workload.
Continue reading
4 out of 54.0
4 months ago

Groomer

Mar 2020

Groomer

Batemans Bay NSW, Australia

Excellent people, not enough hours to give.

The good things

Animal people are the best people. Seriously, I have never worked with more passionate and approachable people in all my life. The customers are generally relaxed and in a good mood and for retail that is the holy grail!
Continue reading

The challenges

Unfortunately, my PETstock store is a smaller business in a smaller regional town. Due to this, secure full-time and part time employment was just not on the cards. I couldn’t live off the measly few hours they were throwing me and when I would approach management for more and highlight why I felt that way (I was the only groomer, booked 3 weeks in advance over summer) I was always knocked back. Even if it was just temporary, I would have been happy.
Continue reading
5 out of 55.0
4 months ago

Third in Charge

Mar 2020

Third in Charge

QLD, Australia
3 to 4 years in the role,

Fabulous family feel!

The good things

Best people, fabulous customers and fantastic support from management.
Continue reading

The challenges

An incredible amount of manual handling heavy stock 20kg. Training could be better.
Continue reading
3 out of 53.0
5 months ago

Sales Assistant

Feb 2020

Sales Assistant

Brisbane QLD, Australia
3 to 4 years in the role,

Typical retail position with added expectations like heavy lifting and constant cleaning of dog mess.

The good things

Working with some nice people.
Continue reading

The challenges

Achieving KPIs, the pressure to add on/ up-sell. Dealing with ignorant customers. Felt like I was constantly providing an education service. A new culture of too much compulsory online training. Very micro-managed by head office.
Continue reading
2 out of 52.0
7 months ago

Salesperson

Nov 2019

Salesperson

Brisbane QLD, Australia
former employee

Management: \"Your mothers body should have aborted you\"

The good things

Met a few good people
Continue reading

The challenges

Management were unprofessional, mean and downright horrible
Continue reading
Page
of 8

Company Reviews published on our site are the views and opinions of their authors and do not represent the views and opinions of Seek.com.au or its personnel. Seek.com.au does not verify the truth or accuracy of any reviews and does not adopt or endorse any of the comments posted. Seek.com.au posts reviews for what they are worth and for information purposes only to assist candidates to find employment.