Royal Flying Doctor Service

Royal Flying Doctor Service

3.4
3.3968 out of 5

Top mentioned terms in reviews

Hide filters

Filter or search the reviews

Sort by

Reviews are shared 'as is' in line with our community guidelines. They are not edited, verified or endorsed by either Seek.com.au or the company themselves.

Showing 55 reviews sorted by Most recent

1 out of 51.0
2 months ago

Ambulance Transport Attendant

Oct 2021

Ambulance Transport Attendant

Victoria, Australia
1 to 2 years in the role, former employee

I would not recommend.

The good things

The service offers good salary packaging benefits.
Continue reading

The challenges

Management does not unite the service, they seem more bent on profits then patients or staff. The work-life balance is non-existant with no set pattern with rostering for FTE. The culture is toxic and problems with staff is not addressed, often the victim is blamed and issues are swept out of sight, out of mind. There is no opportunity for growth in the service with the inner circle taking on more roles so others cannot be promoted.
Continue reading
1 person found this helpful
2 out of 52.0
3 months ago

Manager

Aug 2021

Manager

Victoria, Australia

I'm happy to have moved on and have recovered my sense of well being and value in the workplace.

The good things

There are a few team members that make working at the RFDS Vic a pleasure and I felt a great sense of comradery with them.
Continue reading

The challenges

Expected to work 24/7, answering calls into the night and on weekends. The executive leadership team isn't united and people are talked about behind their back. I always got the sense (and sometimes direct feedback) that anything I did wasn't good enough.
Continue reading
Employee review

Have your say

Let others know what it's like to work at Royal Flying Doctor Service

Click to rate

0 out of 5
2 out of 52.0
9 months ago

Corporate Office

Mar 2021

Corporate Office

Queensland, Australia

Passionate health and corporate workers, disconnected high-level management, little opportunity for growth, and incompetent HR department.

The good things

There are particular people in the business who are passionate about their jobs which is refreshing.
Continue reading

The challenges

Management do not listen to corporate staff and take on feedback. There is little opportunity for job development and promotion. HR are disorganised and put the business before employees. Some long-standing key players in the business have been there for far too long and act like they run the joint.
Continue reading
1 person found this helpful
5 out of 55.0
2 years ago

PTO

Mar 2020

PTO

Tamworth NSW, Australia
1 to 2 years in the role, current employee

My overall experience with RFDS is great, we have wonderful co-workers and most of the time wonderful patients

The good things

The majority of staff are friendly and caring
Continue reading

The challenges

The Hub returning calls and sometimes text messages
Continue reading
5 out of 55.0
2 years ago

Ambulance Attendant

Mar 2020

Ambulance Attendant

Wonthaggi VIC, Australia

Great organisations committed to preofessional, world class patient care

The good things

Management and their desire for excellence
Continue reading

The challenges

The pre hospital protocols are quite limited
Continue reading
5 out of 55.0
2 years ago

Events first aid officer

Mar 2020

Events first aid officer

Victoria, Australia

The flying doctor has kept me on my toes, educated and supported me throughout my career

The good things

Working for a rewarding company that cares about the community and addresses the disparities within different backgrounds
Continue reading

The challenges

The long hours which is part of any medical job
Continue reading
1 out of 51.0
2 years ago

Health Professional

Mar 2020

Health Professional

Broken Hill NSW, Australia

You are a cog in a very big money making machine that is ONLY concerned with preserving their reputation! Be warned.

The good things

Good benefits, salary sacrificing, etc
Continue reading

The challenges

Out of touch management only concerned with reputation and will throw employees under a us in a heartbeat
Continue reading
1 out of 51.0
2 years ago

Dental Assistant

Dec 2019

Dental Assistant

Tasmania, Australia

Loved working in remote communities

The good things

Loved working in remote communities
Continue reading

The challenges

Poor Management. Difficult working conditions.
Continue reading
5 out of 55.0
2 years ago

Projects

Dec 2019

Projects

Sydney NSW, Australia
3 to 4 years in the role, current employee

Best employer and working environment I ever experienced

The good things

RFDS South Eastern section- really good place to work for. I am lucky to work with a great bunch of people. If you look after them they look after you. Extremely supportive team. Exciting projects and challenges that leave you wanting more. Good work-live balance if you are able to manage it yourself and be honest, 'give and take' keeps everyone happy. Constant opportunities to improve and upskill if it fits your role. Very rewarding even though I don't interact with patients, the team I am part of makes things happen in the background but shared mission objective keeps us connected and focused on the patients.
Continue reading

The challenges

Sometimes it's hard to push through \"but this is how we did things for years\" and convince people to try new things, new technologies and software. Occasionally communication breaks down making things difficult - it's nothing but another thing to try improve on.
Continue reading
2 out of 52.0
2 years ago

Line Pilot

Nov 2019

Line Pilot

Brisbane QLD, Australia
5 to 6 years in the role, former employee

Under-utilised, difficult company culture.

The good things

Lots of days off, good and well maintained machinery. Varied flying.
Continue reading

The challenges

Limited opportunities for advancement, lots of low priority back of the clock work. Always tired due to so much night work.
Continue reading
Page
of 6

Company Reviews published on our site are the views and opinions of their authors and do not represent the views and opinions of Seek.com.au or its personnel. Seek.com.au does not verify the truth or accuracy of any reviews and does not adopt or endorse any of the comments posted. Seek.com.au posts reviews for what they are worth and for information purposes only to assist candidates to find employment.