YWCA of Canberra

YWCA of Canberra

2.6
2.6 out of 5

Top mentioned terms in reviews

Your trust is our primary concern
To provide the best experience to help jobseekers find the right company for them, all content posted is reviewed using our community guidelines
Reviews are posted as submitted. They cannot be altered or edited by Seek or the company
community guidelines
Hide filters

Filter or search the reviews

Sort by

Reviews are shared 'as is' in line with our community guidelines. They are not edited, verified or endorsed by either Seek.com.au or the company themselves.

Showing 15 reviews sorted by Most recent

1 out of 51.0
9 months ago

HQ Office

Mar 2020

HQ Office

Canberra ACT, Australia

Toxic workplace.

The good things

The organisation provides great support to the community.
Continue reading

The challenges

It is a top down toxic workplace. Staff are not respected. Management are authoritarian. The organisational culture contradicts its own values. Low pay.
Continue reading
1 person found this helpful
1 out of 51.0
last year

Early Childhood Assistant

Nov 2019

Early Childhood Assistant

Canberra ACT, Australia
5 to 6 years in the role, former employee

Management are appalling and refuse to deal with grievances effectively.

The good things

Great benefits including long service leave , salary packaging , good maternity leave
Continue reading

The challenges

Management don’t show empathy towards their employees nor respect their valuable contributions to the organisation
Continue reading
Employee review

Have your say

Let others know what it's like to work at YWCA of Canberra

Click to rate

0 out of 5
1 out of 51.0
last year

Educational Leader

Oct 2019

Educational Leader

Gungahlin ACT, Australia
3 to 4 years in the role, former employee

The worse place for working

The good things

Good payments,and have salary sacrifice
Continue reading

The challenges

Nothing chalanges in this company because the management is bad
Continue reading
5 out of 55.0
2 years ago

Manager

May 2019

Manager

Canberra ACT, Australia
5 to 6 years in the role, former employee

Work that makes a difference

The good things

The management team have such high standards and that encourages the people who work there to reach those high standards too. The YWCA is part of a worldwide network of women who strive to make the world a better place for young women and girls. The organisation does so much for the community!
Continue reading

The challenges

Clients are sometimes tough to deal with, but the support systems are in place to help you when you need it.
Continue reading
1 out of 51.0
2 years ago

Housing Support Worker

May 2019

Housing Support Worker

Canberra ACT, Australia

At the beginning with the right supportive team and management the position was very fulfilling. The position became unbearable due to poor management and lack of adequate support in the role.

The good things

When I first started working with the YWCA I had an amazing team and very supportive management. I enjoyed working directly with strong, admirable, supportive women.
Continue reading

The challenges

Upper management at director level and above were not as supportive as my immediate team members and managers. When the management structure within my team changed the new management was less supportive, fostered an unhealthy working environment, very unresponsive and unsupportive. The YWCA’s core beliefs are around women’s rights, building women up to be leaders, this is not the experience I had, at all.
Continue reading
5 out of 55.0
2 years ago

Managing Director

Dec 2018

Managing Director

Canberra ACT, Australia
Less than 1 year in the role, former employee

Knowledgeable

The good things

The management are very friendly and accommodating
Continue reading

The challenges

Getting the work load done
Continue reading
1 out of 51.0
2 years ago

Program Manager

Jul 2018

Program Manager

Canberra ACT, Australia
Less than 1 year in the role, current employee

Love what I do when I get to work with some great people and families.

The good things

The friends you make, the family you look after, and the schools you work along side
Continue reading

The challenges

Manager's don't give you very go support. Bull.... from the top. expect the best from you but don't give you the time needed to do your Best.
Continue reading
1 out of 51.0
3 years ago

Early Childhood Educator

Feb 2018

Early Childhood Educator

Canberra ACT, Australia
1 to 2 years in the role, former employee

Hard

The good things

Only the Children , very wonderful happy children at most centres and family’s are wonderful
Continue reading

The challenges

Staff, many were just employed because they needed staff and the rest are very dismissive and arrogant
Continue reading
5 out of 55.0
3 years ago

Early Childhood Teacher

Nov 2017

Early Childhood Teacher

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

An amazing organisation, with high standards and lots of opportunities for development. People who leave are usually those that want to do things the 'easy' way, not the best way.

The good things

Amazing professional development opportunities and HIGH standards.
Continue reading

The challenges

A minority of people who can't seem to reflect on their own practice. High performance culture means it's obvious when you can't or won't change things for the better. Unfortunately it's these people who are the loudest, leave the nastiest reviews and take everyone for a ride. This is an amazing organisation that's committed to changing our community for the better.
Continue reading
1 out of 51.0
3 years ago

Housing Officer

Aug 2017

Housing Officer

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
5 to 6 years in the role, current employee

Awful, to achieve good outcomes for the vulnerable families it is essential to work in a supportive environment where ideas and experience is valued, in my experience this did not happen.

The good things

Working with vulnerable families to achieve long term housing housing goals.
Continue reading

The challenges

Support from management is very poor. Working within a team of unsupportive women is extremely challenging.
Continue reading
Page
of 2

Company Reviews published on our site are the views and opinions of their authors and do not represent the views and opinions of Seek.com.au or its personnel. Seek.com.au does not verify the truth or accuracy of any reviews and does not adopt or endorse any of the comments posted. Seek.com.au posts reviews for what they are worth and for information purposes only to assist candidates to find employment.