Beacon Lighting

Beacon Lighting

3.8
3.8333 out of 5

Top mentioned terms in reviews

Hide filters

Filter or search the reviews

Sort by

Reviews are shared 'as is' in line with our community guidelines. They are not edited, verified or endorsed by either Seek.com.au or the company themselves.

Showing 98 reviews sorted by Most recent

1 out of 51.0
17 hours ago

Sales

Nov 2021

Sales

Western Australia, Australia
11 to 12 years in the role,

Wish I had not wasted so many years

The good things

Not much , I hear other states are ok but.
Continue reading

The challenges

Managers micro managing everyone
Continue reading
3 out of 53.0
2 months ago

Retail Sales Associate

Sep 2021

Retail Sales Associate

New South Wales, Australia
1 to 2 years in the role,

Good company for a stepping stone, but not much room for growth.

The good things

Great team in-store. Culture is cultivated by store manager of store. Opportunity to sort of self manage to get tasks done.
Continue reading

The challenges

Not much support from steering management. It's common to hear something will get done, but doesn't happen all the time. Not a feeling of working in "one big team" as it's more store by store culture. Can sometimes feel like you're working on your own. Not much room for progression.
Continue reading
Employee review

Have your say

Let others know what it's like to work at Beacon Lighting

Click to rate

0 out of 5
5 out of 55.0
2 months ago

Senior Store Manager

Sep 2021

Senior Store Manager

New South Wales, Australia
5 to 6 years in the role, current employee

Supportive and creative work environment with room for growth

The good things

Opportunities to progress and move up in my career, very supportive Senior Leadership
Continue reading

The challenges

Nothing that is worth noting
Continue reading
2 out of 52.0
4 months ago

SSC

Jul 2021

SSC

Victoria, Australia
1 to 2 years in the role,

Disappointing

The good things

Working from home and the store teams
Continue reading

The challenges

Toxic culture, poor leadership and no progression
Continue reading
1 out of 51.0
7 months ago

Manager

May 2021

Manager

Queensland, Australia
5 to 6 years in the role, former employee

A terrible company to work with. QLD management are hopeless, un helpful.

The good things

There are some great people to work with
Continue reading

The challenges

Terrible management.
Continue reading
2 out of 52.0
7 months ago

Store Manager

Apr 2021

Store Manager

New South Wales, Australia

It’s a lot of hard work and drive to climb a very short ladder, once you climb it’s nearly impossible to progress in any direction. Very structured company with limited career progression .

The good things

Support from Assistant state managers is to a higher level , family environment with team
Continue reading

The challenges

Long hours as management and a lot of behind the scenes to get everything to standard . Work load on other tasks were not achievable
Continue reading
5 out of 55.0
8 months ago

Lighting Designer

Apr 2021

Lighting Designer

Queensland, Australia
7 to 8 years in the role, current employee

Becoming a Lighting Designer has been a dynamic, challenging and incredibly rewarding career choice - best decision I have ever made!

The good things

My career with Beacon Lighting has spanned close to a decade, during which time I have witnessed the company progress and evolve to become a truly wonderful place to work. One of the great benefits of working for Beacon is accessible and consistent training that is available to all team members. There is fantastic online learning modules, blogs, forums and Q&A sessions, all accessible via an online portal and mobile app. Beacon do provide opportunities to train for various roles and upskill via training seminars and courses. Through these training modules I was able so upskill myself to become and Accredited Lighting Consultant, which combined with my prior industry experience and qualifications led me to become a Lighting Designer based out of one of our many Beacon Design Studios. As a Lighting Designer, I assist clients with lighting placement, selecting suitable product as well as creating a digital portfolio of their lighting design schematics. This role is always extremely fun and refreshing – no two projects are ever the same: simultaneously challenging and stimulating. Being a Lighting Designer means I can let my creative side really flourish, whilst still being engaged mentally. There is a great network of resources and support available to Lighting Designers from management, to colleagues and peers locally and nationwide. The most rewarding element of my job is knowing I am playing an active role in changing my clients lives. As a lighting designer, I am typically involved with my clients from the early preliminary stages all the way through their build or renovation process, until the very end. Seeing the result and how everything ties together is the very best part of my job. My role has given me the ability to keep my toes dipped in the world of interior design which has always captivated me and allows me to utilise my skill and passion for all things lighting.
Continue reading

The challenges

There are some challenges to this role, but I have found that all challenges have led to positive outcomes for my own personal and professional development. The ability to time manage is very crucial in order to perform to the best of my ability. This is a skill I have honed through my role, and I have created my own workflow and organisation systems that have carried on to my personal life. Another challenging aspect is the ability to multi-task. As all my clients are at different stages of their projects, I do need to be across all of my open jobs and know their status at any given time. Going hand-in-hand with multi-tasking is also the ability to prioritise jobs and having a system in place to appropriately manage client expectations. The only other aspect that can be difficult is keeping up with changing technologies, trends, and products on the market. I am a self-confessed knowledge nerd, so this does not phase me all that much as I do enjoy learning and continuing to better my education. Whilst all of this does sound daunting, there is amazing amounts of support available to Lighting Designers, particularly within the Lighting Design community as all other Lighting Designers are extremely helpful and willing to assist. All of these challenges have only helped me to excel within my role and I have learnt a lot about myself as well!
Continue reading
5 out of 55.0
8 months ago

Assistant Store Manager

Apr 2021

Assistant Store Manager

Queensland, Australia
3 to 4 years in the role, current employee

Very Rewarding and great personal development opportunities

The good things

Great Team environment. Everyone is happy to help either within the store or external stores including interstate stores. The State and Assistant state managers are easy to talk to for any advice and support
Continue reading

The challenges

Learning new products when they come in. However the Hub is updated regularly with questions asked by team members across the country and most of the time the information you need has already been asked and a solution is already provided.
Continue reading
5 out of 55.0
8 months ago

Store Manager

Apr 2021

Store Manager

Victoria, Australia
7 to 8 years in the role, current employee

No day is ever the same!

The good things

Whether you are learning about a clients new project, growing a team or working with a new team member, each day is so different. beacon allows you to use your skillset to help grow the business and allows you to give anything a try. Great store teams and leadership from above.
Continue reading

The challenges

The ever changing trends in technology and design - but this can also be part of the perks - you get to learn the new trends.
Continue reading
1 person found this helpful
3 out of 53.0
8 months ago

Retail Sales Assistant

Apr 2021

Retail Sales Assistant

Victoria, Australia

Challenging, rewarding and at times socially challenging. If you choose to work at a store with a good manager that's hardworking and understanding your experience will be great, if not you'll be asking to be transferred for months.

The good things

Working as a casual I was able to work at different stores, which was a great way to experience the work culture across board. It also helped learning from different people and building upon my knowledge. Made great friends and learnt a lot.
Continue reading

The challenges

If you had an issue with management, forget about it getting resolved easily. Being a casual has its perks, but was told by management that 'casuals don't really get to excel' after being told they could. They promote mental health and well-being, but as soon as anyone spoke up about their negative experience, it was shutdown immediately with unanswered phone calls and no responses to emails from senior management.
Continue reading
1 person found this helpful
Page
of 10

Company Reviews published on our site are the views and opinions of their authors and do not represent the views and opinions of Seek.com.au or its personnel. Seek.com.au does not verify the truth or accuracy of any reviews and does not adopt or endorse any of the comments posted. Seek.com.au posts reviews for what they are worth and for information purposes only to assist candidates to find employment.