The Salvation Army

The Salvation Army

3.6
3.6198 out of 5

Top mentioned terms in reviews

Hide filters

Filter or search the reviews

Sort by

Reviews are shared 'as is' in line with our community guidelines. They are not edited, verified or endorsed by either Seek.com.au or the company themselves.

Showing 304 reviews sorted by Most recent

1 out of 51.0
3 months ago

Doorways

Aug 2021

Doorways

New South Wales, Australia
1 to 2 years in the role,

DO NOT WORK IN NSW OR QLD ER SERVICE STAY AWAY

The good things

Helping people who are in hardship.
Continue reading

The challenges

The Micromanagement, Team Culture. Threats or Hr involvement over simple errors that could be fixed with support and development unachievable goals and KPI’s. They do not look after staff like they look after the community. So many changes with COVID
Continue reading
5 persons found this helpful
1 out of 51.0
7 months ago

AOD Practitioner

May 2021

AOD Practitioner

Victoria, Australia

Would not recommend working at Bridgehaven

The good things

Working with clients
Continue reading

The challenges

Inexperienced and unprofessional management, volatile working environment
Continue reading
5 persons found this helpful
Employee review

Have your say

Let others know what it's like to work at The Salvation Army

Click to rate

0 out of 5
3 out of 53.0
7 months ago

Donor Contact Representative

Apr 2021

Donor Contact Representative

Victoria, Australia
Less than 1 year in the role,

Giving their attention to those who need it the most (and it's not the employees...)

The good things

I worked within one of the state call centres as a contractor. I liked how they did not subscribe to traditional call centre ethos. Casual environment (including dress code) and generally easy daily tasks. Small, supporting team.
Continue reading

The challenges

Being a charity, conserving funds is important. Therefore, there weren't alot of employee amenities available (such as, a water fountain). While this isn't a dealbreaker, it may make it uncomfortable for some - however you just need to adapt to the environment.
Continue reading
1 person found this helpful
4 out of 54.0
11 months ago

Assistant Manager

Jan 2021

Assistant Manager

Queensland, Australia
5 to 6 years in the role,
1 person found this helpful
1 out of 51.0
last year

AOD Practitioner

Dec 2020

AOD Practitioner

Victoria, Australia
1 to 2 years in the role,

Despite the rewarding experiences working with clients in recovery, the role was ruined by management and culture. Would not work for them again and would not recommend the organisation to anyone

The good things

Colleagues were amazing and supported each other really well. The role was very satisfying, working with clients. The role paid well.
Continue reading

The challenges

Very high turn over of staff, poor culture, unsupportive and unskilled management team.
Continue reading
13 persons found this helpful
5 out of 55.0
last year

Team Leader

Nov 2020

Team Leader

Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 to 2 years in the role, current employee

Great company with supportive management.

The good things

I previously worked for The Salvation Army 10 years ago as a job coach and enjoyed it then, now to return and find it still has the same qualities in a job. RDO every month gives a work life balances. Above average salary and with salary sacrificing. Great team environment with everyone collaborating and management and colleagues have been so supportive when it comes to training. No question is too silly.
Continue reading

The challenges

Working with the general public in delivering the disability employment contract comes with its challenges. But the reward you get from helping people successfully into employment is worth it.
Continue reading
3 persons found this helpful
3 out of 53.0
last year

Financial Officer

Oct 2020

Financial Officer

South Australia, Australia
9 to 10 years in the role, current employee

Stressful and Frustrating.

The good things

The People in my Department are like family and make coming to work enjoyable. The Knowledge shared between the 6 of us is paramount and we all assist each other where necessary.
Continue reading

The challenges

We have been under the restructure Cloud for 3 Years and are still yet to be advised if we have jobs still. They are very poor at managing change and use consultants to do so who know little of The Salvation Army and its values. The Govt pull back funding so we are unable to continue providing services they way we have in the past. Being under that redundancy cloud for so long means we are unable to move on until we are notified whether or not we are still employed.
Continue reading
5 persons found this helpful
5 out of 55.0
last year

Bank Reconciliation officer

Oct 2020

Bank Reconciliation officer

New South Wales, Australia
More than 12 years in the role,

Rewarding

The good things

The people, Salvation Officers and my work responsibilities.
Continue reading

The challenges

Working for the Salvation Army was was a learning curve, hearing about the hardship families deal with.
Continue reading
1 out of 51.0
last year

Nurse

Sep 2020

Nurse

Tasmania, Australia

Poor leadership

The good things

The wonderful staff and client's
Continue reading

The challenges

Management have been promoted beyond their ability
Continue reading
9 persons found this helpful
5 out of 55.0
last year

Volunteer

Aug 2020

Volunteer

Victoria, Australia
3 to 4 years in the role, current employee

A privilege & an honour.

The good things

In 2017, I was homeless, as well as enduring other personal hardships in my life & it was in these circumstances that I met the people at The Salvation Army in Geelong, Victoria & soon thereafter, began working with them in different voluntary roles.. After initially being asked to speak at The Lazuras Community Centre open day, I then went on to do many public speaking roles at various functions, including The Annual red Shield Appeal Breakfast, in addition to doing both newspaper and radio interviews & was subsequently asked to be an official part of a TSA Media Team, which I am still currently a part of. I was also made the official spokesperson for LCC & most recently, a member of the 3 person panel assigned to interview candidates for different positions within the organisation. Every experience that I have had with TSA has been both positive & highly beneficial in gaining experience & knowledge in all aspects of work within the Homeless & the Community Services industry. Furthermore, I have considered it be not only a privilege, but an honour, to be included in. All staff, in every area, from management of volunteers, is among the kindest, decent & genuinely caring people I have ever had.
Continue reading

The challenges

As I am extremely passionate about helping people in all aspects of life, I feel that the biggest challenge is in dealing with the emotional aspect of roles within the industry. However, I consider myself to be very much a people person & believe strongly in treating everyone with the utmost courtesy & respect, as well as taking the time to listen & understand each situation.
Continue reading
1 person found this helpful
Page
of 31

Company Reviews published on our site are the views and opinions of their authors and do not represent the views and opinions of Seek.com.au or its personnel. Seek.com.au does not verify the truth or accuracy of any reviews and does not adopt or endorse any of the comments posted. Seek.com.au posts reviews for what they are worth and for information purposes only to assist candidates to find employment.