James Cook University

James Cook University

Student reviews of James Cook University courses


James Cook University

James Cook University courses

Average rating of 205 course reviews

4.0
(205 reviews)
575
482
334
210
14
Published Aug 2018
Bachelor of BusinessJames Cook University
Graduation date2013
Study modeOn-campus
Student review
I completed a duel major in both Marketing and Management. Unfortunately i completed this degree right around the time social media was starting to take off and a lot of our marketing degree is no longer relevant as the students knew more about social media and social media marketing than the teachers did. I am sure this is no longer the case and the course has been updated. Apart from this my experience at JCU was excellent.
Published Aug 2018
Bachelor of BusinessJames Cook University
Graduation date2017
Study modeOn-campus
Student review
They just give u enough theory to make u through the exam.
Response from James Cook University
Thank you for taking the time to tell us your thoughts. Any chance to improve our courses, how our lecturers and tutors interact, or the student experience is important to us. Wed be interested to hear more about the specifics of your time at JCU. If you feel inclined, please send us an email on feedback@jcu.edu.au. Thank you.
Published Aug 2018
Bachelor of ScienceJames Cook University
Graduation date2012
Study modeOn-campus
Student review
No real course structure, a hodge-podge of random subjects especially in order to comply with their rule 3.1
Response from James Cook University
Thank you for taking the time to tell us your thoughts. Any chance to improve our courses, how our lecturers and tutors interact, or the student experience is important to us. Wed be interested to hear more about the specifics of your time at JCU. If you feel inclined, please send us an email on feedback@jcu.edu.au. Thank you.
Published Aug 2018
James Cook University
Graduation date2015
Study modeOn-campus
Student review
The course structure is good however I would appreciate if it had more practicals included as to give a hands-on approach to the IT and management industry. Most of the work was just theory and not much live projects to handle. When it comes to Masters I expect teachers to give us a more broad experience on some live projects to prepare us for the job market. Overall I will mark it as 3star as the management principles still helped me at my current job. The IT skills are not really up to the mark. I would recommend a more professional approach ,bringing in certification exams , guidance to do CCNA /CCNP courses and also Oracle. Master's degree should not just be a certificate but an experience filled education.
Published Aug 2018
Bachelor of ScienceJames Cook University
Graduation date2015
Study modeOn-campus
Student review
I thought the course had great practical and field work experience but didn't focus enough on industry related skills. There needs to be more opportunities for placement and/or subjects that focus on skills that are necessary in the workforce.
Published Aug 2018
James Cook University
Graduation date2010
Study modeOn-campus
Student review
Was a gr ewat starting course, definitely gave me insight into the industry. Quality of the teaching was good, but did find that it wasn't all relevant. 1 on 1 time with lectures was available too and made learning easier. Campus also had latest tech needed to make it in the arts industry.
Published Aug 2018
Bachelor of ScienceJames Cook University
Graduation date2015
Study modeOn-campus
Student review
Most of the classes I took related to aquaculture. These classes were great, however, there weren’t enough classes to cover my major in 2nd-3rd year and therefore I had to supplement with marine biology classes etc. which weren’t great value for money.
Published Aug 2018
Bachelor of BusinessJames Cook University
Graduation date2015
Study modeBlended
Student review
The fact that I could do most of my study online and still keep on track was great. I had all the support that I needed
Published Aug 2018
Diploma of Higher EducationJames Cook University
Graduation date2015
Study modeOn-campus
Student review
Good course if you are looking into going to a degree, not very useful if you are planing to use as a work advantage.
Published Aug 2018
James Cook University
Graduation date2011
Study modeOn-campus
Student review
The course was ok. Few units better than others. Tourism industry is the problem.

SEEK Learning has not verified the truth or accuracy of these comments and does not adopt or endorse any of the comments posted on this page. SEEK Learning collects and posts the comments for what they are worth and for information purposes only to help future students make an informed choice for their education through www.seek.com.au/learning.View our Community Guidelines and further information here.

0
© Copyright 2019 SEEK Learning
International group companies: