UNSW Sydney

UNSW Sydney

Student reviews of UNSW Sydney courses


UNSW Sydney

UNSW Sydney courses

Average rating of 522 course reviews

4.1
(522 reviews)
5197
4216
388
215
16
Published Oct 2018
UNSW Sydney
Graduation date2010
Study modeOn-campus
Student review
Great idea to combine business and technology subjects, very current - lots of relevant material. Some great teachers that indeed left a very positive impact!
Published Sep 2018
UNSW Sydney
Graduation date2010
Study modeOn-campus
Student review
It was ok, but they changed some of the lecturers at the last minute, and the quality of those courses was impacted. Also, no help to find a job.
Published Sep 2018
UNSW Sydney
Graduation date2016
Study modeOn-campus
Student review
It is ok, got some knowledge. However, not good engoth to find a relavant job.
Published Sep 2018
UNSW Sydney
Graduation date2010
Study modeOn-campus
Student review
Don't think at the time how useful it was to get a good grounding in both hardware and software design and implementation. Certainly I learnt so much more since leaving uni but that background has served me very well in my career
Published Sep 2018
UNSW Sydney
Graduation date2017
Study modeOn-campus
Student review
Needed more practical skills within programs, and thorough explanations. We didn't pay $2k or more for a course to be told to watch YouTube or given a basic "Pdf" on complex programs.
Published Sep 2018
UNSW Sydney
Graduation date2015
Study modeOn-campus
Student review
Although I learnt invaluable skills in analysing and critiquing problematic scenarios, the course was, in my opinion, too theoretical and did not prepare me for the industry. Albeit the final year project did somewhat provide this experience. I would recommend this course but with a caveat, be aware that streams such as mechanical engineering will provide greater industrial opportunities post graduation (due to the niche area of aerospace/aeronautical engineering in Australia).
Published Sep 2018
Master of Information TechnologyUNSW Sydney
Graduation date2016
Study modeBlended
Student review
The course offered a good blend of technical and management skills required within a Workplace that develops and delivers IT solutions. From software, security to logistic and project management; a wide variety of skills were obtained.
Published Sep 2018
Graduation date2017
Study modeOn-campus
Student review
I undertook Bachelor of Chemical engineering and Master of Biomedical engineering. The way the program is structured is for the initial 4 years is primarily focused on the Chemical engineering side and instead of picking free electives you are to pick courses from your Masters degree with the last year left for your Master degree. I felt that this break down was slightly rushed as you are expected to immediately jump into a Master's Biomedical thesis with little to no experience with the Biomedical Engineering side. Chemical engineering: This was the primary let down of the degree, although there are a few good courses a majority of the course is rushed with little to no focus on practical applications. Courses which later became the foundation of all subsequent course work was often rushed and very poorly taught. Notably Material and energy balance where a majority of the coursework was "taught" through watching videos of calculations. Biomedical engineering: For me this was a great course theory and practical applications were well balanced and well paced. Most theory that was taught had a very strong focus on the practical applications coupled with a number of site visits as well as guest speakers. The only major issue I and many others had with the course was the Master's thesis. If you're taking program this as part of a double degree, you immediately jump straight into your thesis after finishing undergraduate program which at the time you would have only had a handful of Biomedical courses under your belt. Industrial training/Internship: This was also a major let down of the program. As with all engineering degrees certified by Engineers of Australia you're required to complete 60 days of practical engineering experience to complete your degree. Unfortunately any support or help from UNSW is near non-existent with their reasoning being that this will be your experience in job hunting. Whilst this is true the students from UNSW will be up against students from other universities which do aid their students. Practically all other universities share their industry connections, host networking events, run numerous programs some even find your internship for you if you choose to. This leaves UNSW students much less prepared and are expected to stand out from those who have the backing from their university. The only "help" you will get from UNSW in attaining your internship would be via other students and student societies which is a far cry from the support given to other universities. This is also primarily the reason why there are a much larger amount of students from UNSW who have completed their studies and yet can not graduate.
Published Sep 2018
Graduation date2015
Study modeOn-campus
Student review
Great support from uni staff and a lot of communication opportunities with other students and teachers. The most inpressive is the varieay of the student social associations that offers to you to have a better study-life balance.
Published Sep 2018
Bachelor of ArtsUNSW Sydney
Graduation date2015
Study modeOn-campus
Student review
The course was interesting, with a a good mix of theory and practice. One of the things that made it truly enjoyable was the teaching staff, and the passion they had for their subjects. Learning from these teachers was inspiring and encouraging, and I reflect back on that time of study with fondness and feel encouraged to keep on pursuing the goals they helped me to aspire to.

SEEK Learning has not verified the truth or accuracy of these comments and does not adopt or endorse any of the comments posted on this page. SEEK Learning collects and posts the comments for what they are worth and for information purposes only to help future students make an informed choice for their education through www.seek.com.au/learning.View our Community Guidelines and further information here.

© Copyright 2019 SEEK Learning
International group companies:Educación (Mexico)